Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
2003-07-20 - 4:41 p.m.

The Fab Five

Between the power outage, baseball and actually having to work for a living, I didn�t get the chance to catch Bravo�s�Queer Eye for the Straight Guy� until yesterday.

In case you aren�t up on your pop culture or you actually ARE a straight guy (not you Dante, we KNOW you are fabulous), the program is makeover, or rather �make better� show featuring our heroes, The Fab Five. Each week their mission is to transform a style-deficient and culture-deprived straight man from drab to fab in each of their respective areas of expertise: fashion, food and wine, interior design, grooming and culture.

Remember when Cinderella�s fairy Godmother fixed her up for the ball with the help of the little mice?

It�s kinda like that. For example, Adam (not Adam the witch) is a likeable slob that reminds you of John Belusi. He wants to throw a surprise party for this sweet little wife, but he�s a mess (backhair! DEAR LORD!!!) and his home is equally a mess. The Fab Five come to his rescue and save the day, but not without a little bitch-slapping and not-a- few snide remarks.

I caught 2 back-to-back episodes yesterday and while the show has been criticized for perpetuating gay stereotypes, I laughed my fabulous gay ass off. But then, I am a stylish queer, despite my love of baseball thing. I appreciate catty gay banter and I am in the self-improvement business myself. I also have highlights in my hair and spices in my cupboard other than salt and pepper. There�s a Polo Blazer hanging in the closet. I have been known to borrow my BF�s Italian loafers. I sincerely believe Christopher Lowell is correct when he mandates �No white walls!�

The Fab Five apparently do know their stuff and are more than just snarky, pretty faces because the 2 transformations I watched were more remarkable than the clean up of Jason Giambi for the Arm and Hammer antiperspirant ad. And if ever a straight guy needed a good scrub and polish it was Jason.

But that�s not why I liked the show. It�s just damn funny. When Carson, the fashion expert, is going through the Adam�s closet and comes across a hockey jersey, he stares at it cluelessly �I have never heard of this designer �Gretsky�. Now that is funnier than anything that Jack ever said on �Will and Grace� and that dialogue is written by a whole team of well paid professional writers.

Of course not all gay men are snappy dressers and live in gorgeous homes. Some look like an unmade bed and prefer drive-thru cuisine. All straight men aren't hopeless slobs either. Look at Dave Beckham. Call the show shallow, and I�ll remind you that Oscar Wilde said it�s only shallow people who don�t judge by appearances. So it�s shallow, but it�s also powerful...and damn funny Click Here and read one man's opinion of the fuckability of the Fab Five.

Who is your favorite? I am calling Thom.

3 outta 4!

You Royals take 3 out of 4 games from the Al's Western Division leaders, the Mariners...and the Mariners, in my humble opinion, are THE team to beat. We would have won that 4th game except my new boyfriend, Ichiro, gets a 2 out, 2 strike, bottom of the 9th Grand Slam. Ichiro is so stinkin' hot, I almost forgave him. Do you BELIEVE yet?


Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com