Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
11-25-2002 - 4:18 p.m.

GREEN BEAN CASSEROLE

It has come to my attention that green bean casserole has become the fruitcake of Thanksgiving. You know the stuff I am talking about; canned green beans, a can of mushroom soup and some of those krispy fried onion things on the top. The recipe has been around since 1955 and 20 million serving are gobbled up every year at Thanksgiving. You either love it or you hate it. Your grandma probably made it, at least one of mine did. That was Ruthie, the chubby grandma that fried everything in lard and knew her way around cream gravy. The other grandma, the one that was the Bishop�s wife, was always dieting and kept her pantry filled with cottage cheese and Rye-Krisp. A child could have died from starvation before he found a cookie at that house.

Anyway, this Turkey day�or Tofurkey day if you have vegetarians in the house...I have been selected to host the feast. My sister�s winning argument was �I did it last year with a 9 month old baby and the year before when I was pregnant. You got a break because of grad school, but now, it�s your turn. I�ll bring the pies� and please no green bean casserole!' Her kids and husband hate the stuff.

I didn�t realize GBC had become an issue, but I agreed to find an alternative vegetable option. Maybe broccoli in a cheese sauce?

Yesterday, I start to plan the menu, asking for input from the family. We�re going for tradition, so don�t suggest blackened Cajun turkey with dirty rice or turkey sushi. The B-gurlz and Maria want mashed potatoes and plenty of �em. 'Ewwwww' they say about green bean cassrole. 'Yucky!

Mikey�s only request is no marshmallows on the sweet potatoes. Apparently vegetarians don�t eat marshmallows. He can take or leave the GBC. I like the cranberries the best and am neutral on the subject of green beans. Ray will eat anything. I could announce Thanksgiving dinner was going to be beanie-weenie with tap water to drink and Ray would begin to salivate like Homer Simpson. He�s a total food slut, so his vote doesn't count.

I write out a tentative menu and call mom for final approval. I have a hidden agenda in consulting with her. I hope she will volunteer to come over early and help me cook. She does, but adds that we MUST make green bean casserole �Your father loves GBC!� He�s Ruthie�s son, afterall.

OK, so GBC is back in the line-up.

Later that day, Mikey asks if he can bring a date. �Sure, Babe� I say, �but how does he feel about green bean casserole?�



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com