Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
11-12-2002 - 10:11 a.m.

JJ Falls Down the Stairs

Ol' Doc Hawk always says 'Don't leave things on the stairs, you'll fall and break your neck' But I leave things on the stairs anyway because I am contrary and have arthritis in my knees and hips and somedays the top of the stairs might as well be the summit of Everest. I am not graceful. I admit that freely. I will also confess to being lazy

We have a 3 story house, 4 stories if you include the finished basement that is the lair of the B-Gurlz. The washer and dryer are in the basement. My dirty clothes are on the second floor. Ideally, your laundry facilites would be where the dirty clothes gather, but NO! The stairs are an obstacle course. I am coming down the stairs with a weeks worth of laundry in my arms. 3 steps from the bottom, I trip,painfully twisting my left leg behind me. I start to fall foward and have sense enough to throw the laundry in front of me. I land with a thud on a pile of dirty jeans and t-shirts.

I can't breathe for a second. Ray is right, I have broken my neck. I am never going to hear the end of this.

My left leg feels like someone has tried to twist it off my body.That's good, if I can feel my leg, I haven't broken my neck. Holly comes over and nudges me with her wet nose to make sure I am alive. Mikey shows up next

'Why are you laying on the floor?' he asks

'I fell down the stairs'

'Are you Ok?'

'I don't know?'

'Do you want me to help you up?'

'No, I think I will just lie here for awhile until I am finished being embarrased'

Mikey says that there is fresh coffee and heads back to the kitchen

I lay there for another few moments thinking about this client I have that is trying to lose weight...a lot of weight, like 500lbs. He had a little weekend binge and I hear myself saying 'We all stumble and fall sometimes, but we don't just lay there. We get back up and keep going'

Slowly, painfully, I get back up. Gotta keep going



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com