Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
11-11-2002 - 5:08 p.m.

The B-Gurlz make Sushi

I am deeply involved in watching the Chiefs-49ers game yesterday afternoon when the B-Gurlz announce that they are making a surprise for dinner. Sushi!

Great, I love sushi. Nothing better than a freshly made California roll, right? I mention that we have some imitation crab, cucumbers, baby carrots, radishes, cream cheese and even an avocado. I ask them if they think they will need anything else because I really don�t want them excavating the kitchen looking all around for something we don�t have. Not that I want to stifle their creativity, of course, but these gurlz can be more destructive than a swarm of Madagascar termites

They claim they have everything they need and not to worry. Giggling starts in the kitchen

The Chiefs lose again. I start dinner, noticing when I open the fridge that their tray of sushi is covered in plastic wrap and waiting. It looks a little lumpy, but this is their first attempt and I am proud of them. I also notice that they haven�t used the avocado.

When dinner is almost ready I suggest that the ladies place their little works of art on Maria�s Hello Kitty tea party dishes, which arer probably the closest thing to sushi dishes we have in the houes. Well, at least they are Japanese. The sushi on closer inspection is rather odd looking and seems to consist of rice and a strange light brown and red substance that is pinwheeled in the center of the rice and seaweed wrappers

�You didn�t use any veggies or fish� I say

�We don�t like veggies and fish� they reply

The family gathers. The ladies are praised for their efforts. We all take a bite.

Cold, unsalted rice, chewy seaweed and a familiar nutty sweet taste.

�Uhhh, this is very interesting ladies. What�s in the filling� we ask

�Peanut butter and jelly� my little sushi chefs reply.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com