Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
11-4-2003 - 7:47 a.m.

Eating Through My Birthday

The thing about your birthday when you�re an adult is that there probably isn�t going to be any Batman themed parties with 10 of your best buds from the grade school. Likewise, no balloons, no Shetland pony rides and no clowns

Actually I am OK with the �no clowns� part.

Your inner child wakes up and squeals �Today is my birthday and it�s going to be the best damn day of my life� but then the adult remembers that it is still just a cold rainy Monday morning in November and it�s 5:30 am. All these 33 birthdays have turned you into an adult with ADULT responsibilities and adult responsibilities don�t give a rat�s ass if it�s your birthday or not. My BF has to work, too. He does not say �Come back to bed, you sexy thang and I�ll take you out to breakfast�. later.� The other BF has to work too.

Lives to save, clients to see.

My anorexics need to eat. My bulimics need to keep down what they eat. The HIV + guys need to gain weigh and do a better job of planning meals around meds. My weight loss group needs to make �better food choices�.

Of course, I am wondering if anyone will bake me a birthday cake and take me out to lunch.

Interestingly, when I get to the hospital, my eating disorder girls greet me with cupcakes. I alternate between being touched and wondering what kind of issues a dozen cupcakes are going to raise on the unit.

Blessedly there are no unpleasant �cupcake incidents�

When I arrive at the office, the menu from the local Chinese place is immediately shoved in my face. �We are ordering Chinese for your birthday. You want the General�s Chicken?� Again I am touched, however I know that the first Monday in November is excuse enough for these people to celebrate and order Chinese. I do get the General�s Chicken�with extra eggrolls. There is also an amaretto cake

And then Mom calls and she has baked a chocolate cake for me. After seeing clients, I drop by for a slice. Mom and Dad aren�t speaking to each other, because she has taken away his car keys and suspended his driving privileges. Each of them presents their case to me. It�s not pretty since my father has no idea who I am and there is some yelling. Then we all have cake and coffee and pretend like the yelling never happened.

Arriving at home at 6pm with 2/3 of a chocolate cake and leftover Chinese. Ray, Mikey and Maria are waiting and starving. There is no Grim Reaper in the yard or black bunting on the porch like there was last year for Michael�s big Four-Oh. 33 is not an interesting birthday, but that doesn�t mean we aren�t all going out to dinner to celebrate.

Birthdays! It�s all about the food



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com