Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
10-17-2003 - 10:31 a.m.

Just a Neighborhood

Even since I was a surly teenager, I have been a 'We're Here, We're Queer. Deal With it!' kinda guy.

I have reaped the benefits of the Stonewall warriors without ever having to pay for any of them. I suppose I owe someone a big belated Thank You, but mostly I want to be left alone to love and live my middle class life.

So, I don't know what I expected before we visited the Castro District of San Francisco that Saturday morning. Probably Gay Disneyland with golden California lads walking proudly hand in hand.

I admit to my throat closing up a little when I saw that Big Gay Flag waving proudly at the corner of Market and Castro. Closed up much the same way I get at the ballgame during the 'Star Spangled Banner'

'Wow' I said to my traveling companions. 'Imagine being closeted all your life and feeling ashamed or like a freak, then making that pilgrimage here and seeing THAT' You would feel like you finally landed on your home planet'

So we began walking around and after you take away all the Rainbow flags and banners, it was about as exciting as Prairie Village on a Saturday morning. People were having coffee and bagels at Starbucks. People were waiting in line at the B of A ATM. They were getting 'scripts filled at Walgreens, buying garden hoses and picking up their dry cleaning. There is even a yarnshop (and the SEX* was great)

And when I say people, I don't mean Tom of Finland dudes in leather, I mean ordinary people, men, women, kids and dogs.

Ok, there was outdoor advertising for the newest Titan XXX video called Carny and the men on that billboard looked mighty fine. We don't have any bars in Prairie Village called 'Daddy's' or a Judy Garland florist, but otherwise it was surprisingly ordinary.

All the pretty boys must be in West Hollywood

'Not what I expected' I sez to Mikey, a native of SF.

'Yeah, I know' he says 'You expected a 24/7 Pride Parade'

I admitted that he was right. Everyone we met was friendly enough. A kind person smiled a me when I dropped my cane and rushed to pick it up.

Salesfolk in the stores were helpful and waiters were chatty, but it was not cruisy or the least bit predatory. No sex in the streets, but that's OK. I am traveling with daughters.

"The Castor St Fair tomorrow will be different" Michael assured me "But dont expect 'Southern Decadence' It's more about community."

And Michael was right. It's not a magic Rainbow Neverland where all the boys are beautiful. It's a community, just like Prairie Village, or Sesame Street or wherever you live. People join together for companionship, for safety, peace and the exchange of goods and services. I won't be moving from Prairie Village and heading west. I like PV: The Star of Kansas, but I am glad the Castro exists for those that need it.

*SEX=Stash Enhancement eXpedition



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com