Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
10-16-2003 - 10:35 a.m.

10 things about San Francisco that Surprised me

I promise this will be the last of the travelogue. What a long strange trip it�s been.

1) It�s even more beautiful and romantic than everyone says.

2) OK, I knew it was hilly, I watch teevee, but I didn�t know it was �oh my god, rollercoaster hilly�.

3 )Parking is expensive, but that is OK, because there IS no place to park. I knew it was expensive compared to the Midwest, but here in the flatland we believe that we have a God given right to free parking. Overnight parking at our hotel was $30. In Kansas you can get a hotel for $30 and park in front for free. AND I got a parking ticket!

4) It�s foggy. I knew it was foggy, but I wasn�t prepared for tangible fog that you could reach out and touch. I liked it

5)Lots of homeless people. I didn�t just fall off the turnip truck; I have seen homeless people before. I had not seen block after block of homeless people camped out on the street.

6) Michael said �Fisherman�s Wharf is a tourist trap.� I said I wanted to go anyway. Michael said �Nothing but overpriced seafood, T-shirts and coffee mugs.� I said I wanted to go anyway. Michael was right.

7)Chinatown is freakin� crazy. Michael is Chinese and he�s mysterious and serene. Maybe that is why he moved to Kansas

8)Cute policemen�everywhere!

9) There is no beach in North Beach. There is, however, good pizza.

10) Union Square is the place for upscale shopping, however good old Middle class Target dominates the outdoor advertising. And BTW, there is a GAP at the corner of Haight and Asbury.

So that�s it. There�s no place like home.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com