Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
10-5-2003 - 10:05 a.m.

A Bridge by the Bay

From the Archives, but you voted it your favorite from 2003

Sometimes when you are traveling with 5 other people, you need to get away from them for awhile. Even if you love them, you still need some 'alone' time.

So I drive the rental car (a sweet Hyundai Sonata with a moonroof) to the very base of the Golden Gate Bridge at twilight.

It's lovely there; uncrowded, cool and a little misty. The sky has a few pink streaks remaining. A few Asian fishermen are packing up and calling it a night. Giant waves are crashing up on the rocks. A family of seal lions are having a frolick just off shore.

You don't have to be from Kansas to find the Golden Gate Bridge a little magical. I sit for awhile on the hood of the car, just taking in the moment.

A soldier approaches; full camo uniform, big ass M-16. We exchange 'Good Evenings' Ooooh, he's a hot one, too. About 40, fat Castro clone 'stache. Dazzling smile and a twinkle in his eye.

His name is Karl and he's from Minnesota. 'How 'bout them Twins?! He makes a Ruby Slipper, Dorothy and Kansas joke.

Karl's job tonight is to protect this beautiful bridge from terrorists. He has just started a 12hr watch. Yeah, it gets a little lonely, but it beats the hell outta downtown Baghdad.

I thank Karl for his service to our country. He says he doesn't get a lot of thanks. No terrorists seem to be around so he sits for awhile with me on the hood of the Sonata.

We enjoy the twilight, the seal lions and a bit of conversation.

'Are you going to the fair tomorrow?' he asks. This would be the Castro Street Fair and 'Yes, We are going'

'We?' asks Carl 'You have a boyfriend?'

I don't bother to explain that I am a greedy bastard and have more than one. I do mention that Mister Boyfriend is probably waiting and worried. I have been known to take candy from strangers and it's pretty dark by now.

'Maybe I will see you at the fair tomorrow' says my soldier

'Maybe' I said. I reach to shake his hand goodbye. Such a handsome man, such a romantic setting...a handshake just isn't going to be enough.

So I kissed him. One perfect, wistful kiss in a perfect place.

Then I got into my rental and drove away, leaving Karl to protect his bridge. �



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com