Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
10-21-2003 - 10:44 a.m.

The Tuesday Tie-Up

Firstly, Old Doc Hawk would like to wish you a Happy Respiratory Care week and he reminds you that cases of asthma rose in the United States a staggering 75% between 1980-1994. There are 23,500 children in Kansas City with asthma. Only our sister city of St Louis has more.

A citywide tragedy or a new Lexus in our driveway? You decide

Secondly, if your local NPR station is having its funding drive, send them a few dollars. Without NPR, I wouldn�t know a damn thing about diddlysquat.. I am more fascinating because NPR exists. How about you?

Thirdly, Yawn. I am trying to get interested in the World Series, but...yarn. The ALCS is always more exciting to me and this year was a good one, even if the Evil Empire won AGAIN. And look who won that 7th game for the Yankees: Giambi, brought from Oakland, Aaron Boone, bought from the Reds. Godzilla, bought from Japan. It's been said before but the Yankees are the best team money can buy.

The Marlins all seem to be young, fast and Latin. Anyone have a problem with that? Not me.

Ay Papi!

Fourthly, while cruising the aisles of the grocery store, I came upon a bottle of dishwashing liquid that was labeled �Aroma therapy: stress relief with the relaxing scent of lavender and ylang ylang�

�Hmmm� I said to myself, �As a mental health professional, I should check this out.� Imagine prescribing �Go home and wash some dishes and call me in the morning� Imagine less anti-anxiety medications and more clean dishes for my clients. Some of them need to clean up their lives.

Hydrotherapy was once widely used in mental asylums for calming down an anxious patient, before the days of psychopharmacology.

So I bought a bottle because I am either optimistic or stupid. And I washed some dishes, even though we have a non-human dishwasher. It was a pleasant enough experience, I suppose, but I have never really minded washing dishes. As domestic chores go, it's not nearly as bad as scooping out the cat box.

It's always a pleasant moment when the dishes are done, the kitchen is clean and you can go do whatever. But it was not was not as stress relieving as hot sex at bedtime.

Sorry Palmolive

.

And while on the topic of domestic chores, you know that scrubby thing that we all use for washing dishes? It�s like a sponge but more abrasive. The silly thing only costs about a $1 and you can get them almost anywhere, but I will hang on to it until it is in shreds. Same thing is true with sponges. A new package of sponges in bright pretty colors is a bargain, but I will keep using the same one until it is about an inch square and grey. I have never been known as a penny pincher either.

But I have been called lazy.

What's up with you?



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com