Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
10-04-2003 - 10:02 a.m.

Heavens Above: A street Called LOVE

So, I go into the post office right next door to the Haight-Asbury free clinic. Music in the air, flowers in my hair and LOVE in my heart.

I need stamps. I have money. I am not some dirty hippie panhandler asking for the bathroom.

I'm a freakin taxpayer

4 windows. 3 have "next window please" signs

I go to the open window. PostOffice Bitch goes off on me."I didn't call you to the window! Did you hear me call you to the window? You will have to wait!'

This is after many days on the ship where the staff would lick your butt clean if you wanted. I am talking about some quality service.

So I wait, leaning on my cane, trying to look miserable. She keeps me waiting.

The 3 other girls behind closed windows keep me waiting. But I need stamps. The boys need postcards.

Finally, one of the postoffice wenchs sez' if you just need stamps, there is a machine' and she points. So I use the machine. Less 'spare change' for street folks, but the mail must get thru.

Jerry, Jimi and Janis wept

Peace and Love from the city by the bay.

JJ



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com