Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
8-22-2002 - 9:39 p.m.

It�s not easy being green

Especially for your family.

It�s back to school time and the B-gurlz have been busy getting their wardrobes fine tuned and spify. Neither of these ladies have grades that match their academic potential, but they seem excited because they are movin' on up to the High School this year...and that means a new crop of boys.

I can SOrelate.

Payday at the bagel shop arrives and Miss B wants to go to the drug store to get some hair dye. She has been Harlow blonde all summer and frankly, she has a little dark root action going on, so we figure she is going to touch up for back to school. No big deal

Giggling is coming from the downstairs bathroom. Then the sound of blowdrying and more giggling. They emerge from the bathroom and lil Missy's hair is lime green.

�What do you think?� she asks, admiring herself in the living room mirror.

�Uhhhh, well�,it brings out the color of your eyes� I say diplomatically

Ol� doc Hawk isn�t as gentle. He hates it and tells her. Then he jumps on Bailey, who is no innocent bystander, and asks Bailey�whose own hair has remained the color of honey in the sunshine� why she let Miss Thnag do this horrible thing. Bailey goes on the defensive and retorts �I told her not to dye it green, I said Pink would be much cooler�

A heated discussion breaks out between the girl and Hawk. He expresses concern that she is entering a new school looking like a �freak�. Miss B yells back that �it�s my hair and I�ll do any fucking thing I wants with it�. Then both the gurlz stomp out of the room in a huff.

But Mister isn�t done 'expressing concern' yet, so he turns on me. You remember me that had NOTHING to do with the green hair. �I have no control of the child.' he says.' She is disrespectful and smokes in the house. She swears. She dresses like a circus clown. She stays out with boys until after midnight doing Lord only knows what.�

I can feel myself shrinking down to the size of a child as he ventilates. I feel guilty too, because a lot of what he says is true. She is a difficult child.

Still, I don't appreciate being scolded like I am the naughty child. I should probably be more objective or more professional, but what is easy to do in the office is often hard at home. It�s a Leo thing with him, I rationalize. They roar when they don�t get their way, but it all blows over quickly. And he's right, her hair looks like seaweed.

Finally I have had enough and am about ready to burst into tears, so I announce evenly that I am going to check my e-mail and I leave the room. Mister goes to bed. I go to bed after he has fallen asleep. This is no way to live and I am miserable.

3am, I feel a hand on my ass. �JJ, you awake?�

Grumble �I am now�

�I shouldn�t have yelled at you. I�m sorry�

�It�s just hair� I say

�You�re right, Baby. Just hair�



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com