Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
2004-03-24 - 9:55 p.m.

Soup of the Day

In Spring, a young man�s fancy may turn to thoughts of love. Most of us think about sex all year long. I think about buying new yarn 3 out of the four seasons, taking a summer vacation from knitting. But the chilly first grey days of November has me thinking about soup.

I like soup. I like quick and tasty Campbell�s tomato with a grilled cheese sandwich and I like complex gourmet soups that take all day to prepare. Like the California Crab chowder we had in San Francisco. It was a symphony for the tongue�and they served it in a sour dough bread bowl. Like my future wife, Rachael Ray says �Delish!�

Ray grew up poor so he knows the value of a good soup, too. Add a little water and you can feed everyone. Michael tends to enjoy Asian soups that have unrecognizable parts and smell like a wet dog. Maria likes any soup with Kiddie shaped pasta. I don't really see that the pasta looks like Sponge Bob, but I will take Campbell's word for it. When I was her age, I liked Chicken Noodle-Os.

Miss B is the family hold out. She is soup phobic. I don�t just mean she doesn�t enjoy a hearty soup, she is afraid of soup. The very sight of a steaming kettle of soup makes her gag. This seemed to be something of a handicap when she was working at the coffee shop. Fortunately the sub shop has no soup on the menu.

She will eat sushi however. Go figger.

My favorite kind of soup is Du Jour. Here�s my recipe for Du Jour:

Fill the big red kettle with water

Salt the water

Add onions

Add garlic

Add a can of tomatoes

Add all the leftovers

Simmer until dinner. Soup is fun to make because there are no rules.

It�s cold and rainy today, so Ray and Mikey decided to clean out the gutters.

It ain�t all 3-way sex around here.

"Soup time', I think to myself, because the boys will come in cold and need comfort food. The leftovers included a serving of cheese ravioli, some zucchini and a red pepper. I threw in a handful of pasta, baby carrots, a can of red beans and some home grown basil. I called it �Vegetarian Minestrone� and served with garlic toast and sprinkle of parmesan.

Wish you could have been here. Or you make your favorite soup and I'll come over.

I can hardly wait until Thanksgiving to get my hands on that turkey carcass.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com