Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
1-2-2004 - 7:23 p.m.

Intervention

There is a lot to be said for triagomous relationships. You are never alone, unless you want to be. Somebody is always �in the mood� either for love or to split a pizza and you can always catch a ride to the airport.

The bad thing is when the two of them gang up on me because my tidiness quotient does not meet their impossibly high standards.

Like today; I�m out tending to my business, groceries, post office to finally mail Adam his Yule present (Surprise) car wash and I just happened to stop by the LYS and discovered Regia sock yarn on clearance $3/ball. Did I stock up? Bet your sweet ass I did.

I pull in the driveway and our boy Craigory rushes out to help me with the groceries. I keep the sock yarn with me because the truth is I already have a lot of unknitted sock yarn and I really don�t want to see their eyes rolling heavenward when I bring in more sock yarn. Most of the time new groceries are enough of a diversion to sneak a whole sheep into the house.

But not today.

They are sitting at the kitchen table �Justin, we need to talk to you. You know we love you very much, but�..�

OMG! Are they leaving me and moving to Alaska? They have found someone younger and cuter? We�re out of money? They have turned straight?

Michael is looking guiltily at 2 large black plastic leaf bags by his feet. �What�s in the bags, Mikey?� I ask

No nonsense Doc Hawk says �We cleaned up your knitting corner today. It was out of control. Crap everywhere!�

Gasp! OK, it was a little untidy. I have a chair and a knitting basket and this little book case that holds the yarn. Ok maybe things were cascading off the bookshelf on to the floor and the pile was so high you could no longer get into the china cabinet. Ok, maybe unfinished socks were piled 2 feet high on top of the basket and kept falling over. And just maybe I had a big Target bag hidden behind the chair with $$$ worth of yarn, but I didn�t think it showed behind the chair. And maybe we had had several holiday parties and they had asked (begged) me to tidy up and I didn�t do it. I was sick for awhile and then had a big last minute rush to finish the Christmas knitting. Ok, there was an 18 inch pile of sock patterns printed out from the internet. Then the kitty got into the yarn and knocked stray balls all through the living room and it was like a spider�s web.

Now, with the boys' help, my chair is empty. The top of the bookcase has been dusted. My Morticia Addams knitting needle bouquet is on top AND NOTHING ELSE! There is nothing in the basket except the sock I was knitting on yesterday No books, patterns, UFOs or stash.

�But, but, but�.� I start to blubber. �Where�s all my stuff? In those bags?�

�And in the two others out in the garage� Ray says, giving no quarter. �You have 15 unfinished socks and my green sweater, Dude! Follow thru, JJ! Discipline! Don�t start anything new until you finish what you have started. �

�Honey,� Michael says, pulling a half-finished sock in blue and green Mountain Color yarn from the top of the bag. �I remember you working on this on the cruise and that was in September. This is a lovely sock and I would be proud to wear it, but you have to finish it.� Mikey is pulling a parade of unfinished socks from the bag and I remember some of them were on my 2003 New Year�s resolution list to finish. Others, I don�t even remember.

Humbly I agree that I need to finish what I start and thank the boys for their intervention. They are right, I�m wrong and getting defensive isn�t going to help. I hate it when clients get defensive during an intervention. I expect it, but I hate it.

�So baby� Hawk asks, indicating my bag from the LYS, stuffed with bargain Regia �What did you buy?�

�Uhhhh, Kitty Litter?� I bluff.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com