Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
7-26-2003 - 6:12 p.m.

Frigerator Blues

Old Doc Hawk and I really don�t get into fights that often, but when we do, you usually can read about it in the paper or see it on CNN. He�s a Leo; he erupts, roars a bit but it�s all over quickly. I am more of a smoulderer. I can hold a grudge into the next lifetime.

We have a 30+ year old refrigerator. It belonged to my parents before they moved into the assisted living community. Its copper colored, if that gives you any idea what an antique the thing is. 30 years is a long life for a fridge and this poor thing is on its last legs. Duct tape is holding the freezer insulation together. Crispers don�t� crisp. Shelves are broken. Ice is sticky and you can drink our ice cream with a straw.

We need a new fridge. I mention this to Hawk, showing him a Sears ad in the paper. Free delivery and they will haul away the old one. He pays no attention to me except to say �Nothing wrong with the one we have. No reason to spend good money...blah, blah, blah.

This is from a man who bought the $40,000 SUV for no better reason than he was tired of the $30,000 SUV. We won�t even mention his shoes.

�Yes there is!� I start listing, beginning with the duct tape. My ace in the hole is that new refrigerators are much more energy efficient than 30 year old models. They will pay for themselves within a year on what you save on your electric bill. I read it in Consumer�s Report. It must be true.

Usually �energy savings� will grab his attention, but Hawk only focuses on the �broken shelf� complaint. Mr Macho will fix that broken shelf, by golly, with MORE duct tape and some Popsicle sticks.

�Well good� I counter �Somebody better eat those Popsicles because they are soggy!�

Ok, that made him mad. We are turning into Lucy and Ricky. I threaten with �either I get a new fridge or I stop cooking� with a very Lucy-like whine and what I hope is a pretty pout.

Hawk doesn�t like threats. He bangs his coffee cup on the table and the thunder and lightening begins.

Whatever.

In summation, I am a spoiled brat who is used to getting whatever he wants, whenever. Noble Hawk grew up poor and had to make due. There is no shame in a duct taped fridge. We are lucky to have any kind of fridge, because his grandma didn�t. No indoor plumbing either. BUT if I want to waste $1,000 to buy something we don�t need, just go ahead and be his guest.

�Great!�I say and start measuring the opening. We could go at least 6 inches bigger. (no comment, Jeff!) I am thinking a �side by side.� With ice and water dispensers in the door.

Michael has heard the yelling and comes in to referee. He calls for calm. Everyone explains their position. Michael listens with the wisdom of Buddha. Turns out Michael is no fan of the duct tape either. He likes the energy savings part. It�s logical. We can�t afford NOT too buy a new fridge. It�s good for the planet and the family.

Hawk apologizes for calling me a brat. Sears is delivering Monday.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com