Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
3-10-2003 - 4:56 p.m.

Mayhem 4 Ewe

After that horrible fire at the rock concert a few weeks ago, I sat my punk music lovin' ladies down, shook my finger and warned them about fire safety and the importance of knowing the location of the nearest exit.

But I never thought I would have to warn them about something like this:

Norwegian music fan's skull fractured after being hit by sheep head

OSLO, Norway - Metal band Mayhem lived up to its name after a fan at one of its concerts had his skull fractured by a flying sheep's head.

The band, part of the country's death metal music scene, was carving up a dead sheep as part of its stage act when the animal's head flew off lead singer Maniac's knife and struck Per Kristian Hagen, 25.

The show was Thursday in Bergen, 487 kilometers (302 miles) west of the capital, Oslo.

"My relationship to sheep is a bit ambivalent now. I like them, but not when they come flying through the air," Hagen told The Associated Press Monday from his hospital room. "I have a headache now."

He was hospitalized Friday for a skull fracture, but is expected to recover.

Hagen, a Mayhem fan, filed involuntary assault and battery charges against the band.

Mayhem member Rune Eriksen, whose stage name is Blasphemer, said the incident was unfortunate.

"The whole thing was an accident, but maybe it would be an idea for another show," he said.

Eriksen promised Hagen a free ticket to the group's next performance.

Police detective Carl-Petter Leganger told the AP an investigation has started, but "nothing suggests this was a conscious act."

The charges carry a maximum sentence of six months in prison.

As a responsible sheep owner and lover of all things wooly, this whole thing upsets me! I would boycott Mayhem's music if I had ever heard of them in the first place.

Won't you join me?

Opening Day for Baseball Countdown: 14 days!!



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com