Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
3-4-2003 - 4:45 p.m.

Laissez Les Bon Temps Roulez

I watched the Mardi Gras festivities in New Orleans on the net today. You can watch too if you are interested. The Bourbon street cam is fun. I saw Colonel Sanders walking arm in arm with a giant Easter Bunny. You might not want to watch at work, however. Ladies were exposing their breasts for the camera

I don�t even think beads were involved.

In case you are new to this planet, Mardi Gras is French for �Fat Tuesday� and it�s a carnival celebrated on or culminating on Shrove Tuesday, the day before Ash Wednesday, the start of Lent. Traditionally, households consumed all the remaining foods that would be forbidden during Lent (e.g., eggs) on that day. Therefore that day is �fat�

Basically, it the last blast before Lent

As I watched the dancing in the street today, from the boredom of my cube at the nursing school, I was a little sad. Sad because I wasn�t there but also sad as I wondered if this was going to be the last blast before this war that nobody wants gets started. Just like Lent, I fear that we have some dark days and sad headlines ahead of us.

BTW, the good citizens of Galveston Texas would like you to know that New Orleans, although a lovely, decadent city, does not host the only Mardi Gras celebration in this country. Galveston lets the good times rolls.

I wish I could share some of my Mardi Gras adventures from that magical time I lived on the island, but I can�t. They tell me I drank too much and was sexually available to strange men...and Jeffy, I am still looking for the photo of me wearing nothing but beads and a feathered mask.

My, how we have matured. This Mardi Gras I will cook some gumbo and stay in my little house on the prairie. It�s sleeting outside.

But if you�re there, catch some beads for me



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com