Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
3-3-2003 - 4:39 p.m.

Raising the Bar

The Sock of the Month Club sent me a highly complicated pattern for the month of February. The yarn wasn�t interesting either, but that is not why the thing is still sitting in the knitting basket untouched.

Although I am pretty sure I am not stupid, I don�t think I can do this. It occurred to me sometime in the last month that I am not really a very good knitter. I know how to make a few basic sock patterns and the family feet stay warm, but I have not been pushing myself to improve. Maybe I am lazy and have been letting the �paint-by-number� sock yarns do all the work.

I don�t knit sweaters. I look with lust at gorgeous handknit sweaters in pattern books and think �too complicated for this boy� Last time I tried to do a FairIsle pair of black and white checkerboard socks for Miss Becky they came out all scrunched up and puckered I was being careful too. I know to 'keep it loose' but it didn't happen.

Maybe it�s a ridiculous alpha male thing to believe that I should even try to improve my skills if I am happy�and everyone�s feet stay warm. That�s what Mikey would tell me. Mikey wants me happy and he loves my socks, but he pushes his Tai Chi skills every morning and claims after 20 years that he is a novice.

I know if I were a terrible cook, or lover or therapist, I would try to improve. I already know I am a terrible golfer, and there is no hope in sight, but I keep playing in hopes of someday breaking 100.

What do you think? Will I be happier if I go ahead and try, then make a mess out of perfectly nice yarn that never hurt anyone? Would a roaring success make me even happier? Do ugly socks keep your feet any warmer than perfect ones. If I keep pushing will someday I be able to look at any pattern and say with confidence 'I could do that'?

Seriously, the Justinland readers are highly intelligent and accomplished at so many things. I want to know



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com