Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
2-13-2003 - 6:39 p.m.

Thursday Tie Up

Where we once again take a lot of loose thoughts and attempt to knit them into an entry...or maybe I had better use

Happy Birthday to my sister, Betsy. You were my very first friend, sometimes my second mom and always my biggest supporter. You are awesome, Lady, and I love you.

It�s also Peter Gabriel�s birthday. Play �In your Eyes� for someone you love today.

Orange Alert:

Is anyone else bothered by Colin Powell�s rather low-tech advice that we all stock up on duct tape and plastic sheeting? I�ve been watching FOX news lately and they are broadcasting from Kuwait, showing us our tax dollars at work and all of our own flashy weapons of mass destruction. And we've got 'em, too, baby. It�s been a parade worthy of a May 1st in Red Square, but meanwhile on the home front, duct tape, trashbags and some AA batteries are going to save our asses.

I just got home from Target where there was a feeding frenzy in the hardware and Valentine departments. Then I went to the gas station. $1.69/gallon.

If the apocalypse is coming to Kansas, give me a front row seat. I refuse to hide in the basement. I have Alzheimer�s in my genes, and that scares me more than anything Al-Qaida has up its collective jellaba.

Still, I might buy some duct tape, Valentine�s Day is tomorrow.

Meanwhile, ol Doc Hawk was just vaccinated for smallpox and Super Trauma Counselor is getting instructive e-mails on 'Talking to Children about War'

Knitting Knews

I bid on a set of Baleen #3 double points on eBay and I thought I was SO over the top with a max bid of $12. The damn things sold for $39! And you thought gasoline was expensive.

I finished those bright turquoise striped socks last night, then proudly showed them to Hawk. He gave me the dismisive �that�s nice, baby� smile, but a few minutes later, he dropped a ball of soft gray striped yarn in my lap. Daddy wants a new pair of dress socks.

Michael Update

Mysterious Mikey called to say he�s going to stay in San Francisco until Monday. I asked if it was because he was afraid to fly during the �Orange Alert�, which is completely un-Mikey and he said �No, Saturday is the New Years Dragon parade in Chinatown and he�s met someone interesting. That IS like Mikey. We can't wait until he gets home and shows us how to maximize our erotic potential.

Becky Confrontation Du Jour

:

5:15 Becky says �Can I use the car? I need to return a book to the library.� The library is less than � mile away, so the request sounds benign enough. But you and I both know �the �library� is the oldest trick in the book.

My personal best is that I once went to St Louis and back, telling Mom that the library was having �extended hours�.

But the best �lying to the parents� story I ever heard is told by my favorite faghag girlfriend, Nancy. In 1969, when she was just 14, she �missed� the bus to Mormon Church camp and went all the way from a small town in Utah to Woodstock. To this very day, her parents don�t know.

If you can top that, please feel free to share.

Back to Becky; skeptically, I hand over the keys, reminding her that dinner is in 1 hr and her presence is requested. She leaves, but oddly enough, the library books remain on the kitchen table.

She misses dinner. 7pm rolls around, No Becky. She is not answering her cell phone. She calls at 8pm, claiming that she is at Ryan�s house, �watching a movie� I tell her to get HER ass and MY car home NOW! 8:15 Ryan calls, asking if Becky is home. Bailey is playing innocent. The phone starts ringing off the hook with friends trying to warn Becky that she is SO busted. An AIM message pops up on the computer from Ryan:

�i let it slip 2 dad that u wuznt here sorry!�

Note to Becky: If you are going to lie to me, don�t leave your Instant Messages or your Blog open.

Finally at 9:15 she arrives, bearing a coconut cr�me pie, thinking I will react like Homer Simpson and not notice she is 3 hrs late. She�s 'been to the library, then over to Bob Evans to pick up my apron and then to Walgreen�s for toothpaste�.

I start yelling; Ray jumps in and has a few loud comments of his own. She is grounded until I have gotten over being mad and that may take awhile. 10 minutes later, after consulting with Bailey, she confesses all. She�s been �hanging out� with a new player, Craig. This is the first time we have heard that name...but she really, REALLY likes him.

Like I care.

Miss Becky has been watching too many cop shows. We don�t go easier on you if you confess. She spits and sputters that �you said you were mad because I lied and now I have told the truth, so what's your problem?�

And on that happy note: Michael�s Feng Shui birth control Tip of the day:

�Don�t decorate your home with images of fierce, stalking, pouncing or attacking tigers with or without live or dead prey if you wish to have children�



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com