Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
2-6-2003 - 7:30 p.m.

Sweethearts

Valentine�s Day is just around the corner and if you don�t believe me, you haven�t been down the candy aisle at Walgreens. VD is in no way my favorite holiday and I would probably fall over dead in surprise if Ray or Michael sent me roses or chocolates�and they both know I like chocolate, the darker the better. The boys both love me, but neither of them is the type to be manipulated by Hallmark or Russell Stover into a romantic gesture, just because the 14th of February arrives on the calendar.

And I can live with that.

But the topic of Valentine�s Day candy brings me to a secret confession. I love those Necco (New England Candy Company) Conversational Hearts. You know, the little pastel hearts that taste like dried toothpaste and say things like �Kiss Me� or �Hey Baby� When did I ever deny being a sentimental boy?

You can go HERE for NECCO Conversation Heart Fun Facts. Dazzle your office mates. For example, each small heart contains only 3 calories, no fat, no sodium. Did you see that these things have been around since the Civil War

The good people at NECCO confess that creating mottoes can be tricky. The new sayings can't be "offensive, distasteful, or too wordy," according to Walter Marshall, retired NECCO vice president. The small hearts generally can fit no more than two words with four letters each. Fortunately, creative phrasing can help fit longer sentiments onto the tiny hearts, as in the case of "EZ 2 LOVE."

And that's all well and good, however the editoral staff here at Justinland (me) believes that the candy sweethearts just don�t seem to reflect the sentiments of the gay community. I mean, I�ve never seen one that says RU Hung or GAY QT. have you? Has someone notified GLAAD of this discriminatory policy?

So for Valentine�s Day this year, I suggest that we claim our rightful place at the Conversation Heart Table. Go Here and make your own Big Gay Conversation Heart. Make 2 or 100 if you like. Then, E-mail them to me at [email protected] and I�ll put them together into a Valentine�s Day movie. Unlike NECCO, offensive or distasteful doesn�t bother me. Is perfectly acceptable. The only thing distasteful about conversation hearts is the purple ones

Have Fun, be creative



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com