Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
1-20-2003 - 5:57 p.m.

Pork Chops

Physicians' wives have a motto. We have adopted it not from choice, but from necessity. It is "Watch and wait." The physician's wife, of all women, understands most fully what it means to watch and wait�. Let her find what consolation she can in the assurance of the old poet that they also serve who only stand and wait. Ellen M. Firebaugh, 1894

I have become an influenza widow. Kindly Ol� Doc Hawk just called and said �Don�t expect me for dinner. We�re just swamped down here.� �Down here� means the hospital. It�s cold and flu season, you know.

I was going to bake pork chops. He loves them pork chops. If you think nurses go to nursing school so they can catch rich doctors, you are mistaken. Every nurse I know wouldn�t take a doctor if you gift wrapped him/her AND paid off their student loans. Those qualities that attracted you to him in the first place, like compassion and caring, will have you eating dinner alone in January.

He probably won�t be home until after 9, because he�ll have to make one last check on his kids. Tuck them in for the night, if you will. He�ll be running on empty when he hits the front door. Last week, he fell asleep while going through the mail. I�m not complaining, really. I am certainly not the moon to his sun. I am more than his reflected light, but I miss him in January.

Come home when you can, Hawk. I�ll keep the pork chops warm.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com