Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
1-4-2003 - 11:07 a.m.

The Bug!

Everybody is sick around here with some tummy virus. Relentless vomiting. Mikey�s last words were �Don�t order the vegetable curry at the Thai Palace.� before he took to his bed. I am the sole survivor and I feel fine. Thanks for asking. And that�s a good thing because the services of Nurse Justin have once again been required.

I went to graduate school so I would never again have to hold the head and wipe the brow of the vomiting. But love means more than never having to say you�re sorry.* Love means �Don�t worry, babe, I�ll clean that up, you go back to bed�

What made Florence Nightengale a great nurse was not that she went through the Crimean battlefields with her lamp and looked dramatic doing it. Mama Florence developed the all important 5 steps of the Nursing Process. This is the very foundation of modern nursing.

�ASSESSMENT:collecting and analyzing physical, psychological and sociocultural data about a patient;

Ok, it looks like I have 5 vomiting patients ranging from a 40 year old male Chinese -American who is skeptical about Western Medicine to a 5 year old Central American female who will do what daddy says. The two 14 year old Caucasian females tend to be drama queens when they are sick. The 37 year old Native American male is the stoic type and will most likely sleep thru the illness and want to be left alone.

DIAGNOSIS: making a judgment on the cause, condition and path of the illness;

Since they are all sick, I doubt it was the vegetable curry. My guess is an intestinal virus, spread by household contact. For my sake, I hope it's a 24hr bug. The biggest concern is dehydration.

PLANNING: creating a care plan which sets specific treatment goals;

Bedrest, sips of clear liquids, gradually increasing in amount until there has been no vomiting for 8hrs. Patients will all urinate at least every 8 hrs or they are getting a bag of IV fluids. Don�t think I won�t!

IMPLEMENTATION: supervising or carrying out the actual treatment plan;

�Get back in bed! Here�s some ice chips. Here's some Sprite. No you may not go out with your friends� Here�s some green tea. Are you ready for a little rice? Don�t worry, I�ll clean that up. You want me to fluff your pillow? Don�t forget to brush your teeth after you vomit�

EVALUATION: continuous assessment of the plan.

Everybody is looking more human this am. So far they have kept down a light toast and scrambled egg breakfast with 1/2 strength juice and everybody has had a morning pee. Keep your fingers crossed

*The late John Lennon once commented that �Love means saying you are sorry even when you aren�t.� I tend to agree more with John and I am working (daily) on a 10 year relationship.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com