Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
12-19-2002 -

Can You Hear Me, Dave?

I have always figured that computers were machines a lot like cars. You didn�t really have to know the mechanics of how they worked to get where you wanted to go.

Last weekend, I printed up a lot of family photos and using magnet sheets, I turned them into refrigerator magnets. I keep telling you people I am making all my presents this year. Sometime Sunday, I noticed that whenever I tired to open the �My Pictures� file, the whole system shut down and I would get the Windows Explorer Error message. I figured I was doing something wrong, but the problem persisted

I tried the Gateway �Go-back-to-a-time-when-the-system-wasn�t- screwing-up� reset option, but that didn�t work. I tried to read the manual, but I might as well have been reading James Joyce in Chinese, it made about that much sense.

So, decide to ask the Gateway on-line help people. I log on and in about 30 seconds a tech name Lana greets me. I type in my problem, show her the message error and she asks if she can have �control of my system� I�m not sure what that means, but I type in �SURE�

Lana AKA HAL assumes control of my system. I don�t know where the gurl is located, but she gets into my picture files. I am watching helplessly and hoping I don�t have any dick pictures in the files that might offend a lady. Screens flip, files are deleted and downloaded. I decide to knit a little more on some Christmas socks and wonder if she could access my credit card numbers. 10 minutes later. Miss Lana announces that she has solved the problem and wishes me a Merry Christmas. All I have to do is reboot.

Great, I know how to do that. I reboot and the problem is solved.

Did you know this kind of technology was out there? I sure didn�t. Wouldn�t it be nice if you could just log on to your doctor and be cured on-line and in ten minutes?



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com