Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
2002-12-05 - 6:39 p.m.

The Sacred White Hippo of China

When I sent the St Joseph Indian School a small donation for Thanksgiving, I didn�t expect to receive a gift in return. If you give expecting to get something back, then you might as well be shopping. Besides, I have already received the greatest gift the school has to offer; one of their graduates whole, productive and still in love with me after 10 years.

You can�t buy stuff like that

Never the less, yesterday a small thank you arrived at the house from the school. �Oooooh, a surprise!� I squeal, like the nelly princess I am. Inside of the box is a little ceramic nativity scene. 2 shepherds, a couple of sheep and Baby Jesus in the manager. They're in a blue cave with stars above. It�s brightly colored, kinda folk-arty and completely charming, I like it.

�What is is?� Hawk asks. I explain that it�s a gift from his old alma mater. He scowls as he examines the piece. 'They don�t look very Lakota, do they?' The shepherds are dressed in typical Navajo fashion; cloth headbands, long tunic shirts, turquoise. The Lakota wear buckskin and feathers. You�ve seen �Dances With Wolves�. Truth is, they look like a Lego version of Navajo shepherds

�What�s that white thing, Wanka Tanka? Ray asks, pointing to one of the little sheep. Wanka Tanka is the Sacred White Buffalo. He is to the Lakota what Jesus is to the Christians. Ray as a non-Christian person likes to incorporate white buffalo into the Christmas d�cor around here. We have an entire herd on the Christmas tree. We also have Wiccan moon goddesses and the occasional Vietnamese mirror for reflecting evil right back at itself.

�I think it�s a sheep, Babe.� I reply. The Lakota don�t keep sheep like the Navajo do, although my own sheep are currently residing with Aunt Dorelda and she�s pureblood Lakota. It�s not carved in stone. On closer examination, I decide that the sheep looks more like a happy white hippo.

I declare that I like the little Nativity and it and am giving it a place of honor on the brick ledge above the fireplace. I observe that it looks handpainted. �Do you think the children of the school painted it? Thst would be really sweet." I turn it over. There�s the sticker �MADE IN CHINA�

Oh good, something from Mikey's culture too



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com