Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
11-29-2002 - 10:42 a.m.

The Feast was festive

Thanks for asking. Praise be to the Goddess Martha and St Emeril for extending their blessings. Brother Turkey came out moist and the Tofurkey was surprisingly edible. We declared the cranberries �the best ever� as we do every year. Mama Hawk brought her delicious Indian corn pudding. Ray found 2 of his stray residents in the hospital cafeteria and brought them home. Lacy and Mikey brought dates. My 18 month nephew entertained us all by diving head first into the mashed potatoes. The only dark spot was a slight mishap with the corkscrew, but with 4 physicians around the table, first aid was quickly rendered. I was available for after-trauma counseling.

But much later that evening, after family and friends had dispersed and the kitchen was once again restored to order, I held my own private Thanksgiving feast with 3 of my favorite family members. I carved off a thick slice of turkey breast, rewarmed the gravy and called my kitties and my dog. The cats aren�t supposed to jump on the kitchen table, but this is a holiday. My furry friends each got a dish of chopped turkey with gravy. �Purr...we love you, Justin, Happy Thanksgiving�

And Speaking of the Goddess Martha

I have mentioned that Ray and I had �adopted� 6 kids for Christmas that are in foster homes. The only thing one of them asked for was a bike, while the rest of them asked for several less expensive gifts. K-Mart, the temple of Martha, had a $120 bike for $60 in their �get there at the crack of dawn� after Thanksgiving day sale. Ray figures if we could get a good price on the bike, we could get the child a few more things to open. Ray heads for K-Mart at 6am, but by the time he gets there, the $60 bike has sold out. No rainchecks. Ray explains his disappointment to a sales clerk. In a combination of Christmas spirit and susceptibility to Ray�s considerable charms, the sales associate offers Ray a $200 bike for the $60 price...already assembled.

I keep telling you people, good Karma will be rewarded...in threes!



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com