Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
11-15-2002 - 10:45 a.m.

Doris� Dogwood Tree

Sometimes when I pull into our driveway, I don�t just jump out of the car and rush into the house. I tend to open the door of the Miata and sit there for a few minutes observing my little kingdom

Sometimes, its more than a few minutes. I know that whoever is in the house is wondering �what the hell is he doing out there? He�s just sitting.� They have questions for me or urgent messages to relay. They probably blame my bad knees. Once I could see Ray in the kitchen pick up the phone, then my cell phone rings. �What are you doing?� he asks

� I'm just looking at Doris� dogwood.�

Doris is our next door neighbor. I think her children planted the dogwood at the corner of her house one year of Mother�s Day. Doris is elderly and winters in South Texas, so that makes her a quiet neighbor

She will not see me stopping here to watch her woods fill up with snow

Only a few stubborn leaves remain on the tree today, but a few weeks ago the dogwood was as fiery as Moses� burning bush. When I pull into the driveway, the little sparrows at our feeder become frightened and scatter, seeking refuge in the tree. Like I would ever hurt a sparrow. I have counted as many as 20 birds in the tree. The mourning doves feed under the tree. I love the mourning doves

In the spring, Doris� Dogwood is like a pink lace table cloth thrown across the branches. In full summer, when the heat blasts you in the face, the green leaves are heart shaped. During last January�s ice storm, the dogwood looked as if it were made of glass.

I�m not Mother Nature�s Son like Ray. Yesterday I left the house at 6:15 am and didn�t return until after 10pm. My 5 minute communion with nature in the driveway maybe my only time all day when I stop, smell the wet leaves and acorns and take notice of the passing seasons.

Mikey has an altar in his room where he burns incense and says his prayers. He leaves tea and fruit out for Buddha. Ray wakes up, faces the East and recites a good morning greeting to the sun. Me, I worship at the shrine of Doris� Dogwood.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com