Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
11-5-2002 - 6:50 p.m.

Lovely Evening, Officer. Is there a Problem?

Well, you knew it had to happen, I just didn�t expect it quite so soon.

MissB had to run back up to the school for something or other related to the drama department. Is anybody surprised MissB is big ol� drama queen? You shouldn�t be. She asks if she can drive the Miata. The gurl has been trying to get her hands on the Miata ever since she got her license last month. I have been reluctant to hand over the keys because she is still having a little problem picking a lane and staying in it, but I have just started cooking dinner and the school is only a mile away. Getting there only involves one left turn. I hand over the keys with an admonishment to be careful.

I really am more worried about her than the Miata, honest!

Not ten minutes later the phone rings �Dr Travis?�

�Yes�

�This is Officer I-forget-his-name with the Prairie Village police�

My heart leaps into my throat. �Yes Officer� I manage to say, adding the unspoken �Please don�t tell me she is dead� prayer�

�Dr Travis, this is just a courtesy call. I had to pull your daughter over just now. It was getting near sunset and she was driving without her headlights. I gave her a warning, but you might want to review the traffic laws with your daughter, Sir�

Oh, thank the Goddess, no one is dead, injured and my insurance isn�t going up!

�I will do that, Sir. Thank you!� sez I. And then I think about MissB�s sassy mouth and her habit of referring to law enforcement personnel as �pigs� �She was polite to you? I ask.

The policeman laughs �Oh Yes, your daughter is quite the charmer. She thanked me for my concern and service to the community and then wished me a pleasant evening�

So remember kids, 30 minutes after sunset, 30 minutes before dawn and when the policeman stops you, don�t swear at them and don�t burst into tears. Be polite and cooperative and you will live to borrow the car another day. And you will make your Daddy so proud.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com