Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
10-23-2002 - 4:57 p.m.

Loose Ends and Random Thoughts

Be Afraid!

Becky and Bailey got their student drivers licenses last week. The ladies are now street legal to drive back and forth from school and to work. They will be driving a canary yellow Ford Focus Hatchback, so if you see them on the street, I suggest you make an immediate right turn. You have been warned.

Meanwhile, my auto insurance went up an extra $2,000 a year. This is one of those things no one ever tells you about when they are congratulating you on the birth of your sweet adorable new baby.

Fortunately, the girls didn�t have to prove they could parallel park for their test, which is good because they still aren�t 100% sure which way to turn the wheel when they are backing up out of the driveway. Can you parallel park? I can�t. It must be one of those left brain/right brain things. What is really embarrasing is that I drive a Miata that I can almost fit in my pocket. Ray drives a big ass Ford Expedition and he could park it in a shoebox. What can I say, Ray is just good

You want further examples of why, for someone with a PhD, I really am an idiot?

Fact #1: I have been trying to eat less and skipping second helpings at dinner.

Fact #2: Lately we have been having a lot of leftovers, usually just about the right amount for me to take for lunch. We never used to have a lot of leftovers

Fact # 3: It took me almost 4 days of eating leftovers to figure out there was some cause and effect going on here.

DUH-HHH

I was born on Election Day�and YES, that does mean my birthday is coming up soon. Maybe that�s why I have always had a fondness in my heart for the whole campaign process. But, imagine my surprise the other day when the phone rang and the caller identified himself as George W. Bush.

�Wow! How are Laura and the twins?� I asked, but it turned out it was just a recording, asking me to vote for the republican congressional candidate. �Yeah, like that will happen, George.� I tell the recording. It was fun to talk back to the president for a moment

Yesterday, I get a postcard in the mail from the Republican gubernatorial candidate addressed to �Dear Fellow Hunter� Now, if you know me at all, you know the only thing I ever hunt is bargains at Target. I don�t like guns and I don�t like the idea of roaming thru the woods murdering one of God�s little creatures even less. The postcard is filled with NRA rhetoric claiming that his opponent is (gasp) pro-gun control and would rip the shotgun right out of my Bambi blasting hands. Guess who is getting my vote?

Am I the only one who thinks that the $10 million the Beltway sniper is asking for sounds like a rather unambitious amount.

Aren't those Anaheim Angels so adorable that they could have been created by Disney? That's humor for you non-baseball fans.

For my knitting friends, a knitting Haiku except translated from the Japanese, it doesn�t take the 5-7-5 format, nevertheless�

One More Stitch

One more row,

Ah, it is dawn



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com