Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
10-18-2002 - 10:48 a.m.

Goodbye, Citylife

Ray gets a lot of job offers from rural areas looking for physicians. I mean REALLY rural area like Alaska or Montana. He�s a country boy by birth (Rosebud, South Dakota) and has often said he would like to relocate to a more rural environment. He has visions of becoming old Doc Hawk and receiving his payments in chickens.

I play the Eva Gabor roll in this dramatic exchange and loudly proclaim that I don�t want to move to Green Acres. �I get allergic smelling hay� (although I am doing quite well on the Clarinex, thanks for asking)

I can almost hear my East Coast friend snickering. �JJ, you live in fucking Kansas, how much more rustic do you want to get? These are the same East Coast friends who have never been west of the Hudson and claim that they would never leave Manhattan, although just living there eats up every cent they make and therefore they have no cash that enables them to enjoy the benefits of living there.

Never the less �The Stores and Time Square� are two of the reasons I have mentioned for not wanting to become country boys. But like my Manhattan friends, when was the last time I really went to the art museum, Nordstroms or the leather bar.

It�s been awhile.

Reality is that Kansas City maybe be called �Paris on the Prairie� but it�s actually a violent and dangerous place. I�m serious; KC ranks only behind New Orleans, St Louis and Houston in murders. This makes KC more dangerous than notoriously dangerous cities like Detroit and Miami.

Lately the craziness has been getting to me, I want to move. I am tired of the body count on the nightly news. I want a ranch in Idaho where I can raise my own sheep and spin my own yarn. I want to give all the sheep names and I�ll dye the yarn with blueberries and onion skins and sell it on-line. We�ll get pick-up trucks and never have to worry about where to park them. We'll go to bed early and pee outdoors. We'll grow our own vegetables

I won't miss the $1 sushi bar on the corner at all.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com