Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
10-4-2002 - 9:32 a.m.

We�re all Made of Stars

Sometimes when you are just sitting there, in front of the computer, unwashed,unshaved,unmotivated, sipping on a cup of coffee that has grown cold, you don�t exactly feel like the wonderous miracle that is you.

But you are, Blanche, you ARE!

2 weeks ago, I had this weird dime sized �imperfection� close to my left nipple. Could have been a pimple, could have been a spider bite, I�m not really sure. But it got raised, red and angry looking and filled with pus and blood.

OK, TMI and Yuck, I agree. I�m a nurse; we don�t always realize we are being gross

Lucky for me, my nekkid body is frequently inspected by 2 physicians, proficient in both Western and Oriental medicine. They said �Put some Neosporin on it and for Gawd�s sake, don�t pick at it�

The thing got bigger and meaner looking, swelling up to the size of a quarter.

�Ah, the inflammatory process� I think, objectively. In nursing school, we were always asked to �explain it on the cellular level�. This has nothing to do with your portable phone. The cellular level is where the miracle of you takes place. A microbiologic battle of life and death was waging just above my left nipple. Invading foreign proteins weree detected and the alarm was sounded. WARNING, WARNING. Blood was directed to the area, Redness and heat spread thru my chest. Like an army of Pac-Men, the white blood cells began gobbling up the enemy. The skin became swollen, stretched, and then split. The invader was physically evicted from my body. Bruising over the area made its slow progression from bloody purple to green then yellow as the spent red blood cells were absorbed

This morning, there is nothing left but a faint pinkness and some flaky skin. The good guys have won

Respect your immune system, boys and girls. Wash your hands frequently. Get enough Vitamin C and get enough sleep. Practice safe sex. Never forget you are a miracle.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com