Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
9-27-2002 - 11:04 a.m.

Scenes From a Marriage

that was a name of a Bergman film, for all you uncinematic people

Sometimes people ask me how Hawk and I have survived 10 years together, since that might as well be 50 years in gay years. The smartass in me usually says something about how we get along so well because I shut up and do what I am told or because we have Michael to referee...and a lot of that is true.

What makes up a marriage is often not those peak, Kodak moments but the little everyday things, like the Hamburger Helper Tuesday night suppers where he tells me about his day and I cluck appropriately.

I have been busy as the one legged man in the ass-kicking contest this past week, trying to balance teaching at the nursing school and my budding private practice. Hawk and Maria volunteered to do the weekly grocery shopping. Marriage is also about dividing up the tasky chores and making sure there is food in the house.

I had mentioned last week that I really liked this Key Lime pie yogurt that I had tried. Hawk hates yogurt, can't even stand to smell the stuff. But when the groceries come home, there's 3 cartons of Key Lime Pie Yogurt. As I am putting it into the fridge, my throat closes up and I feel tears smarting my eyes. It's so much more that just a dairy product to me. It's 'I listened to you, I remembered you liked this, I think about you when we aren't together and I love you'

Petty, mundane everyday stuff. No way! A happy relationship is made up of little moments like this.

I love you too, Ray



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com