Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
9-16-2002 - 8:53 a.m.

Don't even THINK about Parking here

I had been riding this happy content buzz for all of last week. Life has been sweet. I�ve been feeling better (and I don�t have hypertension) The weather finally became cool and pleasant. The Royals won a couple of games. The B gurlz figured out school really was back in session and settled down. Sex has been good and plentiful, food has been tasty, friends have been supportive and have assured me that they �had my back�...and I finally have a few private clients.

However, you knew this was coming�. And this is really such a piddly-ass thing to bitch about in the richness of all my blessings; I mean it�s about a stupid parking spot. But I hate binary, either/or, black and white thinking. I hate authoritarian types, like, oh let�s say Hospital Security Guards that believe that RULES are RULES and we�re going to do it my way, By God, because that�s what the RULE book says! Give some tiny dicked guys a little power and they turn into J freaking Edgar Hoover.

Here�s the backstory. I don�t walk that well, I have a handicapped parking tag. There is a handicapped spot right outside of my office at the nursing school. Sounds like a match made in heaven, but NO! The spot doesn�t belong to the Nursing school; the spot belongs to the Dental school. The Dental school used to be next to the Nursing school, but now they have moved several blocks away, but they still �own� this parking spot. They claim they still need it in case any handicapped Dentists feel like walking several blocks to their office.

Nursing school faculty, being a notch lower on the parking food chain are supposed to park about 2 miles off campus and ride the shuttle bus to the school, which is a bit of a hassle. Not impossible, but not like having your very own spot by the door. A handicapped tag only will buy me a spot right next to the bus stop in the off site lot. I don�t think this is what the Americans with Disabilities act had in mind when they say �reasonable access�.

Last week, I get a threatening note on my car from the dental school. The Director of the nursing school (my boss) tries to appeal to them on my behalf and they get into a turf war. The Dentists say it�s still their spot and they aren�t sharing and if they see my car again, it will be ticketed or even towed. The Boss asks me nicely not to park there anymore. I grumble at her that �It�s a freakin� Miata, I could almost park it in my cube if I had too� She assures me that �we will work something out� I agree to play by the rules because I am new on the staff and I kind of like the job.

So, I am riding the short bus to school. The bus lets me off right by my lovely unoccupied space. I guess none of the dentists felt like walking today.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com