Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
2002-09-12 - 9:37 a.m.

The Good, the Bad and the Indifferent

I spent the day so blissed out from the sunrise yesterday that I decided not to follow any of the 9-11 media coverage. If clients wanted to talk about it that was fine, but as a therapist my focus is always going to be about the positive changes that can be made today to create the future that the client envisions.

Last 9-11 morning, a fellow student, Sue, came into my cube at school to ask �Did I know a plane had just collided into the WTC?� At that point, it was looking like an accident. We turned on NPR and both go online to check with friends in NYC. I remember telling my friend Felix saying he could hear low flying planes, I urged him to hide under the bed. At that point, joking around a little didn�t seem so inappropriate.

When the towers fell, Sue and I assured each other that everyone inside must have evacuated safely. We said that everything was going to be all right. Sue and I weren�t really close, but we bonded that morning. She�ll always be a part of my memories of that day.

Yesterday, Sue called me to say that her baby boy had been born during the night. �September 11, what a day for a Birthday� she said.

Life goes on; I think it�s a great, hopeful birthday.

My mom had to have an MRI last week. She was having some weakness in her arm and seems to be really unsteady on her feet. Yesterday, someone from her doctor�s office calls her to say they have set up an appt for her with a neurosurgeon, but they neglect to tell her why.

Mom is not the sort of person that would scream �what the fuck do you mean by a neurosurgeon? Get my doctor on the phone STAT� like I would. That wouldn�t be polite. When she finally tells me, after the office has closed of course, I go ballistic. I get her doctor on the phone, throwing my �Doctor� title around liberally to the answering service.

When I get him on the phone, he won�t talk to me because of �confidentiality� and we end up having to arrange a 3-way conference call that includes Mom. And after all of that, it shakes down that she has some �abnormalities� on her MRI that her doctor doesn�t understand and that is why he is sending her on to a neurosurgeon.

So now, all we get to do is wait. Until October 7th.

Fuck!

Back to the good news: Mikey came into my office yesterday, eating a ripe juicy plum so obscenely and enjoying it so completely, that it put ideas into my head. Yeah, those kind of ideas. You don�t need to hear any more

The bad: For the last month I have been watching a message board I have enjoyed for over 2 years deteriorate into pure venom. A lot of this is directly related to my stalker, you remember, the gnat that thought he was a tsunami It�s not fun anymore. I don�t understand how gay men can turn on each other with such maliciousness. Don�t you boys know that there are still people in this world that would like to beat you and leave you for dead, tied to a fence? We don�t have to turn on our brothers.

When you go on-line, try to create light, not heat



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com