Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
9-9-2002 - 17:08

Growin Your Own

I�d been seeing this bookmark in the computer for about a week, but I really didn�t think much about it. We�re an eclectic bunch here at Chez Justin and you never know what anybody is going to be interested in next.

Then last night, the other shoe drops. Miss B wants to �talk�.

�Promise you won�t freak out�

I promise, although I should probably know better after all this time.

�Remember how you said that you didn�t have any objections to smoking marijuana except that it supports a criminal industry?� She asks, innocently.

�Ok?, I answer tentatively. I have said something like that before, but I also mentioned that you can waste your youth smoking dope, it�s bad for your lungs and like it or not, it�s still illegal.

Missy continues �But if you grow your own, let�s say in the basement, then you aren�t supporting criminals and terrorist, right?� Well, she is right about that, I guess.

The child wants to start growing dope in the basement. She vows she isn�t going to sell it; she�s going to give it away, for Christmas, no less. Or better yet, Mikey can use it to help his AIDS patients with their nausea. The child is part Santa, part Mother Theresa.

This is the same child that was selling her ADHD meds for $5 a tab.

�It really is a good investment, weed is selling for $300/oz� (is this true? I am out of touch) For the price of 1 bag, she can buy all the equipment. I think I am supposed to be proud of her for being so economical, but this really isn�t like making your own chicken stock.

Miss B sprinkles a little sugar on her appeal by saying, I am glad we can talk about these things without you freaking out�

I had a friend in college that was a botany major. He plowed the dirt basement of his home, installed gro-lights and cultivated quite a crop of Texas homegrown. He eventually got busted when the electric company turned him in for having an excessively high energy bill.

I start listing the reasons why this is a terrible idea, ranging from �you flunked 9th grade science, what makes you think you can grown anything?� to fear of headlines reading �Local Pediatrician busted for K-Weed Farm in basement� I mention my friend and how the Prairie Village police have little to do and would most likely notice a constant purple glow emanating from our basement. I mention that Ray would kill us both

�No, no way� I say, hoping I am sounded firm and resolved.

�There�s just one little problem� Miss B announces. She�s already bought the set up and her seedlings are sprouted�

Looks like Daddy is moving his herb garden indoors for the winter.

Kids these days



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com