Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
9-3-2002 - 9:27 a.m.

Shall we put a cork in that Whine?

Hi, David!

What a way to spend a 4-day weekend. At one point, I was sure that I had West Nile Virus, because I was chilling and my temp was all the way up to 99.2!

One of the BFs said I had your garden variety head cold, the other claimed it was ragweed allergies. One prescribed Sudafed, orange juice and bedrest, the other one poked around on some pressure points in my feet; had me drink some tea with lemon and to eat some spicy minestrone. Both suggested that I wash my hands frequently and �stay the hell away from me� The word �hypochondriac� was mentioned.

You have to have arterial bleeding from the eyeballs to get any attention or sympathy around here

But I am feeling better today, thanks for asking

So, in other news from my unbelievably exciting life:

Oakland wins 19 in a row! The Royals has them down 5-0 at one point yesterday, but the A�s tied it up and then managed to win in the ninth. I�ve never been a big A�s fan, but there�s no denying how good these guys are.

I finished my first pair of socks of the 2002 fall knitting season. They are a thick and chunky waffle knit that looks like a bowl of lumpy oatmeal. If you don�t knit, you wouldn�t understand. Knitting: It�s better than Paxil

The Angry and the Disabled

Sexy James, who writes one of the more interesting and human blogs on the net (and he knits, too!) came upon a group of disabled protesters yesterday in front of a 7-11. Apparently they were unhappy about the how the Jerry Lewis MDA telethon plays on everyone�s sympathies to raise money. The differently-abled want you to know that they don�t want your pity. They want the same respect and opportunities as everyone else�and they want you to stay the hell out of their parking places.

Of course, I have some thoughts on the subject that are all about me.

After I recovered from the meningitis and it became apparent that my days (or nights) of working 12hr shifts in the ER or ICU were over, I was given the opportunity to either be declared �disabled� and start getting social security or to go back to school and be reeducated. The HR people at the hospital and the social worker strongly urged me to accept the disabled label, especially when I told them my idea of �reeducation� involved graduate school that they were going to have to pay for. Why did they try to make it so easy for me just to give up on myself? Fuck that, I was only 27, nothing wrong with my brain. I didn�t want their pity, however I would take their tuition money and the parking spot.

There may be a wheelchair in my distant future and if there is, I�m getting a purple one with racing wheels�and you had better stay out of my way.

Kind of puts all this whining about my cold in perspective, doesn�t it?

I am one BLESSED Boy



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com