Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
7-25-2002 - 11:02 a.m.

Pickin Cotton

The ladies come home from a grueling 2 1/2 hour shift at the bagel shop and announce that they have quit their jobs.

'Ok' I sez , 'Any good reason?'

'It was really hard work...people were mean to us...they made us sweep and clean the bathroom....we had to wear a funny hat' were some of the answers I hear.

I counter with 'but they paid you $6.10/hr and all you had to do is put bagels in a bag and make change. The job was less than a mile from the house and you got all the Coca-Cola products you could drink, which is considerable the way you 2 can slam down Coke. ' I don't mention that I have been loving all the free bagels they bring home, especially the seasme seed.

'But we had to work on Sunday morning and be there at 7am (gasp) That means we couldn't stay out Saturday night'' they whine

I raise my voice, just a little. 'You only had to work 12 hrs a week, ladies. When I was working in ICU I used to work 12 hrs a day, 6 days a week, blah, blah, blah'

Then things started to get fuzzy around the edges. Somewhere in my tirad, I lose myself and begin channeling the spirit of my grandfather who lived during the depression and walked to school barefoot in a blizzard and picked peaches in the hot sun for a nickle a basket and by God, wouldn't he have been grateful to have all the Coke he could drink and free bagels to feed his hungry family.

And I didn't stop there, oh no! Next thing you know, my Grandmother speaks up about working a switchboard during the day, then running the cafeteria at the munitions factory at night so hungry Americans could win the war. And then there was that time we all loaded up the truck and set out for California, but there was no work and we got so hungry that we ended up suckin' on Rose of Sharon's tit for the milk and wouldn't a bagel and a Coke have been good about then?'

'Wait! that never happened' Miss B interupts 'You read that in 'The Grapes of Wrath.' Missy maybe lazy, but she is well read. Bailey is seriously contemplating changing the color of her nail polish.

'Don't worry, JJ, we are going to get jobs at the mall or maybe will will get rich boyfriends'

Yeah, get in line after me, girls.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com