Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
7-25-2002 - 10:50 a.m.

The Enchanted Princess

If you think the story of the Land of Oz begins and ends with the Judy Garland movie, you won't appreciate today's rant. Feel free to skip it.

14 of the Oz books, complete with John Neil's imaginative ilustrations and EVEN reproductions of the original color plates have been released . They are gorgeous, with gilt edges and satin bookmarks and you should buy them all today!

My great Grandmother, Blanche, bought an Oz book every year for Christmas for my Grandmother Eva when she was a little girl. Eva kept the books and read them to her own children, my mother and my Aunt Mary Lew, who read them to their children, my sisters, my cousins and me. I am the one that really loved the books and they ended up in my library. Of course, I have read them, or am reading them to my own children. But 100 years and many children later, the books are not in pristine condition. In fact they are falling apart. We didn't know about eBay and that someday they might be valueable, we just wanted to know what happened next.

And that is why I am so glad to see these wonderful reproductions. But why do i love the series so much?<>p>

Well,you see, the beautiful and kind Princess Ozma spent her childhood as a rough and tumble boy named Tip. There's a witch's curse involved, of course. Struggling young queer Justin believed this too must be the explanation of why he's not like the other boys. He's actually a lovely enchanted Princess

Ray says that it certainly explains the imperial attitude.



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com