Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
7-6-2002 - 10:31

Goodbye Ted

I don't know if Ted Williams was the greatest hitter of all times, I grew up in Kansas City, so I tend to believe that honor belongs to George Brett, but I do know that Ted was the last major leaguer to hit over .400 for a season. George took a shot at .400 in '88 but ended up at .396, I think.

To put that in perspective, the current AL batting champ, the delicious Ichiro Suzuki is hitting around .360...and he's GOOD.

Ted was a star before baseball had superstars and zillion dollar contracts and steroids and corporate sponsors. He was also a war hero. Can you imagine any of today's players taking time off from their careers to join the Marines and fly combat mission over the Middle East?

Can you imagine their agents letting them?

Neither can I.

Bye Ted, I know there is baseball in heaven



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com