Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
7-8- 2002 - 16:38

Life With Teenagers or It's just one of those Days

I decided to get a new computer over the weekend. Nothing too terribly wrong with this system, except that it only has a 10G Hard Drive and the ladies have packed it full of every obnoxious punk rock music file ever heard. Between that and all the glamour shots they have taken, I had some serious storage problems.

Deleting their files never helped, they could download faster than I could delete.

So, I get on the phone with a temptress from Gateway and order up a system that would tickle the fancy of even the most jaded size queen. 125G HD.

Sweet!

Plus, she promised me a free printer and shipping. Meanwhile, I tell the ladies that as soon as the new system arrives, they can take the old one into their lair and download any damn thing they like.

Notice I said 'as soon as the new system arrives' not 'just take the whole thing now, I don't want it anymore'

Another thing about teenagers is that they can stay awake later than you can, especially in the summer. They know this and they are counting on the fact that eventually you will go to bed and they can have the house to themselves. Typically these girls are sleeping until 4-5 in the afternoon and then staying up all night. My friend, Adam the witch, has suggested that we check them for fangs and see if they cast a reflection in the mirror.

So early this AM, Ray and I are up. I go into the office to check the overnight progress of some things I have for sale on Ebay...and there's nothing where the computer and monitor used to sit but a empty dusty place

'Oh My God' , I tell Ray, 'We have been robbed!' 'Uh-huh!' he agrees over the morning paper and coffee. Ray points out that nothing but the computer is missing and that our dog would have loudly mentioned strangers in the house during the night.

I yell down the stairs to the lair of the Princess vampires. "Did you girls steal my computer!?'

'you said we could have it!'

'When the new system comes. I want it back upstairs now!'

Grumble, Bitch, Moan! I do get it back, but i get it back in pieces. Yes, I not only want the computer, unreasonable me wants the monitor, the keyboard, the mouse, the CD burner, the powerstrip and even the little 3-prong adaptor.

It takes me a solid hour to get everything set back up the way it was. (there was some cleaning and vacuuming in that hour) I head off to the grocery store and when I get back, there are 4 giant cow boxes waiting for me in the entrance hall

One of those days!



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com