Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
7-1-2002 - 14:47

Goodbye Sally

I had to go to a funeral today. My office mate, Sally died on Saturday. Brain aneurysm at 62, not a bad way to go, I suppose, but 62 is still young.

I didn't know Sally all that well, but her cubical was across from mine at the nursing school. When the coffee was fresh. she would come into my cube and tempt me. We'd chat about the students, the weather or how the Chiefs were doing. She'd ask about Ray and the kids. She said she thought our family was 'great' and that Ray was a 'hunk' I'd ask about her cat.

Sally had never married, but I knew she lived with her cousin, Anne, who was also a nurse. She never said much about the cousin.

I sat with some of the other office mates at the funeral and we exchanged a few Sally stories. Several people spoke and then the minister introduced Anne, 'Sally's Long Time Companion' 'Long Time Companion?' the office mates asked? 'Isn't that a euphemism for....?'

Yeah it is. Sally? Who knew? You could have told me. I make a point of speaking to Anne before I leave, telling her how sorry I am for her loss. She patted my hand and said 'Sally often spoke of you and Ray'

Goodbye Sally, enjoy the next adventure



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com