Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
6-23-2002 - 09:15.

Web Design: Somethings are just better left to Professionals

I admit, I don't know a lot about computers. I've always had one since I got the Commodore 64 for Christmas one year, but I don't know how they work. I figured it's like a car. I don't know how the engine works, but I know how to get where I want to go.

I blame Bill Gates and AOL. They made it easy and got rich doing it. Good for them, but this thing....C://>... gives me an anxiety attack. Where's the pretty picture?

Knowing this about myself, I decide to completely build www.Chasinghawks.com from scratch. My prior experience in web design is limited to posting a few pictures using Easy Designer on AOL. But I'm visual, right? My mom's an artist, right? I'm smart, I have a fucking PhD, right? I have a book called Building a website for Dummies Should be easy, right?

WRONG! Next player please. My links don't work, my pictures come out HUGE and I don't know why. I work on a page for hours and then delete it by mistake. I hide files from myself and I don't have a clue how to merge Michael's vacation pictures into the site.

I would rather spend an hour in a small room with a 325 lb manic on speed than do this



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com