Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
6-12-2002 - 06:40

Mysterious Michael shares a Taoist Tale

A Taoist story tells of an old man who accidentally fell into the river rapids leading to a high and dangerous waterfall. Onlookers feared for his life. Miraculously, he came out alive and unharmed downstream at the bottom of the falls. People asked him how he managed to survive. "I accommodated myself to the water, not the water to me. Without thinking, I allowed myself to be shaped by it. Plunging into the swirl, I came out with the swirl. This is how I survived."

Take that, grasshopper!

The Big-Ass Knife

Ok, I confess, I watch the cooking shows on FoodTV.com. I enjoy them and I know all about Mario, Morimoto and Ming. I even like Emeril and Wolfie. When I can, I try out a recipe or two. I like to cook and more important, I like to watch the people I love EAT!

Apparently Ming, isn't he a cutie is going to become to Target as Martha is to K-mart. Can you tell I score high on IQ tests? Anyway, he has a whole new line of kitchen equipment at Target and last weekend Ray comes home and presents me with THE BIG ASS KNIFE. Green Destiny in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon was not passed on with more reverence or affection, believe me.

Ray sez 'If you are going to cook, you need the proper equipment' which is just about what Ray always sez when he is trying to rationalize buying something REALLY expensive. The man has a $1,200 stethoscope, for the Goddesses sake. Missy, who cuts my hair, uses $400 scissors.

Good stuff costs money, right?

I'm no size queen, but this knife is a whopping 16 inches and it's heavy...and sharp! Oh Baby! You can cut things so finely that they only have one side. Best thing is that you can speed chop really fast and look just like a samurai TeeVee chef. As soon as we got the knife home, after we had finished admiring it, we determined it was 'much to nice' to go into the drawer with the other more pedestrian and dull knives...and that includes a fairy pricey Williams-Sonoma bread knife.

Oh No, Green Destiny has to be kept in it's case and on top of the fridge where Maria can't reach it. Maria is perfectly capable of pulling a chair over to the fridge and climbing for Oreos, of course, but that's not the point.

When you live with a pediatrician, there are rules.

This morning, Mikey takes down Green Destiny to cut up a banana for his granola. Ray gets in a snit and comments that perhaps an ordinary knife might do for 'just a banana'. Mikey counters with something zen-like about a sharp knife being less dangerous than a dull knife. I am afraid they are going to get all alpha-male and territorial about MY new knife, but the situation resolves without any bloodshed.

I'm making coleslaw for dinner, wanna come over and watch me chop?



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com