Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
6-20-2002 - 11:30

Deposition

If you are looking for me to be the gay version of Garrison Keillor today, you might just want to come back tomorrow.

This isn't gonna be pretty

Ray flew to Boston yesterday to give a deposition for the Archbishop's council that is investigating pedophile Catholic priests. Yeah, that�s my Ray, always trendy.

Specifically he is to testify (or depose?) about the Priests that were turfed to the spiritual Siberia of South Dakota during the 70s. Apparently in Boston, if you were a sexual predator priest, instead of kicking your ass out of the church or sending you to rehab, they banished you to South Dakota and sent you to work on Indian reservations with all the Godless little red children. There you could rape and pillage all in the name of Jesus unchecked. Ray was dumped by 'social services' into one of the Catholic run Indian boarding schools from age 7 until he ran away at age 13. That's 6 years of abuse, folks. Ray is the strongest man I know and at 37, he still wakes up crying some nights.

Ray will tell you that the wound has healed and there is no good to come from picking at the scab. Most of the time, I believe him. The Archbishop's council is closing the barn door decades after the horse escaped. I am aware that I am mixing my metaphors, but fuck, I am angry and it's not even my pain. I would happily kill with my bare hands anyone that has ever hurt Ray. I'd rip my own unbroken heart out of my body and give it to him if I thought it would help.

He didn't want to go to Boston, but very few of the other victims are alive today. They were broken years ago by drugs or drink or violence. But Ray is strong. He will be professional and confident when he speaks today. He will be Dr Hawk, protector of children. Articulate, prepared, and armed with the facts. He says that if the Catholic Church is going to be passing out millions of atonement $$$, there is no reason the tribe shouldn't get their share. Rosebud is the 2nd poorest rez in the nation, and the money would help. Especially at Ray's old school, which still stands, now Native run; Red and Proud, assisted by some honestly wondrous, caring priests that want to be there. They aren't all bad guys, you know.

Hurry Home, I love you, Ray, you're my hero



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com