Greetings From Justinland
There's No Place Like Home archives sign SEND YOUR LOVE INTO THE FUTURE I Link, therefore I am Your Love Boat Crew Take a Walk in Our Garden 100 things clix Goatboi Gallery Tell Dr JJ all about it
6-19-2002 - 12:05

Boxscores

20 dead yesterday in Jerusalem and 70 injured, 16 killed today.

I don't know what to think anymore. I am numbed by sadness and horror and the the sheer repetitiveness of the news. I waver between wanting to burst into tears and wishing the media would just post the body count like baseball box scores.

Michael reminded me that it was just a year ago this month that he was visiting the Holylands. He went with a group of local gay spiritual leaders on a 'Pray for Peace and party' tour package. Arabs and Jews and 1 skinny Chinaman, dancing together in the streets at last year's Pride Festival.

I don't know what to do except maybe hold the people I love a little closer.

Edited to add that I read this on Andrew Sullivan's page to day and I am guilty as charged: Andrew writes "What I fear is that the sheer number of these atrocities is numbing us to their evil. These young Islamikazes and their disgusting mob bosses are evil personified. There is nothing noble, despairing or admirable about them. Somehow we have to resist the insidious way in which they are normalizing barbarism."



Go Back
Previously in Justinland: Our Last Five Entries

Wagons Ho! - 4-23-2004

This Old Barn - 4-17-2004

Death and Taxes - 4-15-2004

MMQB:Leftover Peeps - 4-12-2004

The Alamo; The Movie not the Shrine - 4-10-2004


pot luck? Take a chance

comments
hosted by DiaryLand.com